Paul Harris Fellow Awards

The Paul Harris Fellow recognition acknowledges individuals who contribute, or who have contributions made in their name, of $1,000 to The Rotary Foundation.

Rotary established the recognition in 1957 to encourage and show appreciation for substantial contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only program, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.

The first Paul Harris Fellows included past RI Director Allison G. Brush, who served during the 1937-38 Rotary year, and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F. Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs. Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs. Harry L. Jones was the second, and one of only five people recognized for contributions actually made in that inaugural year.

The number of Paul Harris Fellows reached the 1 million mark in 2006 including the following from the Rotary Club of Georgetown.

Esme Ball
Tom Bentley
Kay Bigg
Norm Bigg
Charles Bishop
Richard Braisby
T Howard Briggs
Ted Brown
Robert Burns
Conrad Buy
Dave Carson
Dino Deligiannis
John Discenza
Don Dudek
Barry Edington
Mike Elsey
Wheldon Emmerson
Shahin Fallah
Lois Fraser
Doreen Govas
John Gunn
Barbara Halsall
Barbara Herner
Brian Herner
John Hill
Yvonne Hinan
Harry Hope
Helen Hope
Dorothy Hunt
John Lanthier
Alistair Macewan
Lianti Muller
Dorothy Munsanda
James Paerg
Bruce Pickett
Glenn Price-Jones
Heather Price-Jones
William Reid
Brian Thomas
Barry Timleck
Sandra Timleck
Ralph Ursel
Charles Veale
Robert Walterson
Keith Webb
Neville Worsnop
Peter Zavitz